My Story with This Book: I found this book at a thrift store, on the clearance rack. Lucky me!

Author: Tanya Landman

Rating: 4/5 — Very good, Recommend

Genres: Historical Fiction

Synopsis: A heart-rending story of courage, devotion, and loss. After her brother is killed, a young Apache woman changes the course of her life by becoming a warrior instead of pursuing the typical course of life expected of her (wife, mother). She seeks revenge on his killer and won’t rest until she kills him. Her journey with the warriors of her tribe lead her to discover many things about herself and her family. It is very well-written and flows easily; it’s written in first-person perspective.

Response: I will say first and foremost that I did not like the ending. I won’t say why or what the ending was, but that is the main reason I knocked it down to 4/5 instead of 5/5. But I also must point out that this is not intended to be a book with a happy ending, but rather a tale of this woman’s sorrow, and how it led her to a different life than was intended for her–and how her actions as a warrior changed the course for those around her. It was beautifully depressing. However, I think there could have been a slightly happier ending to satisfy readers, even with the anguish of what she endured. I wanted to throw the book across the room, but I also want to keep it on my shelf forever.

Content: Depictions of battles and descriptions of injuries, which some may consider gruesome. However, it’s not what I would call “graphic”. Sensuality is pretty much non-existent. Clean language, too. All around very clean, though it deals with difficult issues of loss, heartache, racism, and war. Would say ages 12+ due to difficult situations with war and prejudice, but readers who are younger but mature may enjoy it.

Theology: Native American spirituality is constant throughout the book, however I’m not sure how accurate it is to Native American beliefs. There is discussion about the Christian religion from the Native American’s perspective, and it’s one of curiosity, but without full understanding.

Where to find it: As I mentioned, I found it in a thrift store, but you can find it on Amazon here.

