My Story with This Book: Given to me by a friend who was moving and downsizing her books.

Author: Lynn Austin

Rating: 4/5 — Very Good, Recommend

Genres: Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction, Romance

Synopsis: Penny originally wants to help the single father she’d always had a crush on in the hopes of winning his heart while she cares for his children while he fights in World War II. But that one choice takes her to other choices in her life which help her to shake off her parents’ oppressive sheltering: taking a new job, learning to drive, and becoming friends with an older Jewish man. Through these choices, Penny grows and finds herself on a very different path than had been set out before her. She finds friendship, love, strength, and even secrets buried in the past. Though Penny is the primary protagonist, the other characters (the children she cares for and the Jewish man) go through their own stages of growth and learning as they let go of the pain of the past, stand up against prejudice, and find friendship in the least likely of people.

Response: I enjoyed this book and found it to be an overall good read. Some aspects were predictable, however, which is why I kept it at 4/5 instead of 5/5. It was not a major page-turner as there was not much suspenseful about it, and I can’t say that it challenged me, but that is not to say I didn’t enjoy it. I have since downloaded (free on Kindle) a couple more of this author’s books because I like her tone and the story was interesting (even if I could guess the endings of many plot points from early on), but I haven’t read them yet, so I can’t say whether those will measure up to this one. All things considered, a good book and I would recommend it to my friends who enjoy this genre.

Content: Very clean. Some talk of anti-Semitic actions and words, but nothing overly violent or graphic. No sensual content. Would place this at a 10+ for age appropriateness, though it may not be interesting to kids that young. For interest, it’s probably closer to 14+.

Theology: Pretty neutral Christianity. Nothing points to a particular denomination.

Where to find it: Amazon link here.

