My Story with This Book: This book was given to me by a fellow reviewer.

Author: Lis Wiehl

Rating: 3/5 –It’s Okay

Genres: According to the publisher, it’s supposed to be a Christian Thriller. Other than Fiction, I’m not sure what category it actually falls into, as it’s not strongly Christian, nor really a thriller.

Synopsis: News reporter Erica Sparks is given a second chance at life after a brutal divorce, caused by her alcoholism. As an underdog, she becomes the rising star of Global News Network, owned by [creepy] Nyland Hastings. As she follows various leads for big stories, she discovers a wide-spread conspiracy, all while fighting for joint custody of her daughter and trying to stay sober.

Response: I knew what the “plot twist” would be within the first 50 pages. And it’s not a short book. It was a tolerable read–I didn’t feel the need to stop reading or throw it across the room–but not very engaging, either. Written simply, with short chapters and in present-tense narrative, it’s a quick read (despite its length). I kept hoping for a bigger plot twist. I kept hoping that maybe I was wrong about my early premonitions. Maybe there would be an unforeseen betrayal. Nope. Everything was exactly as expected. And yet despite the predictability, in the end, there were plot points that didn’t make sense and were unrealistic. From a “trope” point of view, they made sense, but the way the rest of it was written, leading up to that point, it just fell flat. The relationship she engages in lacks depth and is mostly comprised of benign workplace talk intermingled with her noticing how attractive he is. It really just doesn’t seem like it’s based on anything of substance–and we’re supposed to believe they fall in love? Just didn’t pan out for me, personally. Though I’ve never read anything else by this author, she’s considered a successful writer. From other reviews I’ve read, she has a following and readers have enjoyed her other books. But something about this one just left me asking, “Was that really worth my time?”

Content: Mostly clean. Some sensuality (extremely mild) and one instance of the antagonist being a bit… perverse? But otherwise has pretty clean language. Reading level (for ease) is middle school (11-13 years); appropriateness based on content/interest is around 15 years.

Theology: Nothing of God really mentioned outside of the AA Serenity Prayer.

Where to find it: Amazon, of course. But my advice is not to spend anything on it. If you come across it for free, and you have some time, go right ahead and read it. But otherwise… don’t waste your money.

